Skip to main content Jump to list of all articles Jump to all topics

About Us Team, Impressum, Legal Notice

Smashing Family

Founded in September 2006 in Germany, Smashing Magazine delivers reliable, useful, but most importantly practical articles to web designers and developers. We don’t care about trends; we care about things that work or fail in actual projects. We are — and always have been — independent. 17+ years, and still ongoing.

The Smashing Cat is heading back to New York.

Quality Matters

We care about quality content. We never wanted to be a big publishing house: Our team is small, but it’s a truly wonderful team of people who really care about what they do. Passionate and dedicated. Honest and respectful. Professional but informal. Quirky and personal.

Through our articles, digital books, job openings, conferences and membership, we are committed to nourishing productivity, improving design and development skills and finessing the work-life balance. Getting better, together, by learning from each other — that’s the spirit that has been our mantra for all these years.

  • Questions? Please contact us via our contact form. Yep, email would be easier, but we literally get tons of emails; frankly it’s just easier for us to sort things and reply faster, you know.
  • Alternatively, you can contact us via Twitter — we try to reply as fast as we can.
  • You can also use our postal address for random or not-so-random messages:
    Smashing Media AG
    Habsburger Str. 125
    79104 Freiburg
  • VAT ID (USt-ID): DE264172548

Advertising on Smashing Magazine

We don’t have much advertising on our site apart from a few spots that help us pay the bills. We look for advertisers who provide a product or service that fits the needs of a web designer or developer.

Some Smashing Metrics

  • Monthly pageviews: 2,000,000+
  • Unique visitors: 1,500,000+
  • Twitter followers: 905,000+
  • LinkedIn: 13,000+
  • Newsletter subscribers: 208,000+
  • Medium Followers: 140,000+
  • Subscribers to our RSS Feed: 281,000
  • Subscribers on Feedly: 257,000

Interested? Please send a brief email to Mariona N. Jones at — she’ll respond as quickly as possible!

The Smashing Team

All articles are carefully curated, edited and prepared according to the high standards set in the magazine’s Publishing Policy. These guidelines are continually revised and updated to ensure that the quality of the published content is never compromised. Smashing Magazine is always expanding to provide more quality content for professionals working in web design.

Vitaly FriedmanInge Emmler (CEO, Support and Bookkeeping)Iris LjesnjaninCosima MielkeIlya PukhalskiGeoffAmanda AnnandaleMariona A. CíllerMelina Ruiz NataliAri StilesNoah EmmlerJan ConstantinYanaCharis RoodaJarijn NijkampMarc ThieleTobi Lessnow (Smashing DJ)Ricardo GimenesThe Smashing Cat
From left to right: Vitaly, Inge, Iris, Cosima, Ilya, Geoff, Amanda, Mariona, Melina, Ari, Noah, Jan, Yana, Charis, Jarijn, Marc, Tobi, Ricardo, and last but not least, our one-and-only Topple!

Smashing Magazine’s Experts Panel

Before an article is published, it’s reviewed by independent reviewers — respected members of the design community who provide feedback to authors and review technical details. We are very grateful for the fantastic work of our Experts Panel; the magazine wouldn’t have the same quality without their profound expertise and support.

Aaron Beall Adam Lang Addy Osmani AJ Dimarucot Alan Colville Alexander Charchar Alexander Dawson Alma Hoffmann Andrea Trasatti Andreas Bovens Andrei Zmievski Andrew Berry Andrew Maier Andrey Savchenko Andy Hume Ann McMeekin Anna Peterson Átila Fassina Barry Pollard Bart Mroz Bastian Allgeier Brian LeRoux Bruce Lawson Bryan Allott Carie Fisher Carl Alexander Carlos Lanenga Chad Smith Charlie Nielsen Chris Coyier Chris Day Chris Everson Chris Mills Chris Poteet Chris Shiflett Christian Heilmann Chui Chui Tan Colin J. Ihrig Dale Cruse Dan Kielp Dan Mayer Dan McKenzie Dan Rose Daniel Pataki Darryl Adie Dave Donaldson Dave Hogue David Kadavy David Platt Derek Allard Derek Johnson Dirk Jesse Dmitry Baranovskiy Dominique Lederer Donna Spencer Douglas Bonneville Dudley Storey Ed Finkler Edward Chen Eli Grey Elliot Jay Stocks Eoin McGrath Eugene Terehov Fiona Battersby Francisco Inchauste Graham Smith Haje Jan Kamps Harry Roberts Heydon Pickering Horia Dragomir Hugh Lashbrooke Inayaili de Leon Ilya Pukhalski Indra Kupferschmid Ivan Chepurnyi Jacob Cass Jacob Gube James Adams James Chudley James Walker Jamie Mason Janko Jovanovic Jared Ponchot Jay Salvat JD Graffam Jeff Eaton Jeff Gothelf Jeff Starr Jen Gordon Jens Grochtdreis Jens Oliver Meiert Jesmond Allen Joe Leech Johan van Tongeren Johannes Fahrenkrug Jon Raasch Jon Tan Jorijn Schrijvershof Jörn Zaefferer Josh Clark Justin Burdett Justin Mifsud Kat Neville Khajag Apelian Kieran Masterton Kim Pimmel Konstantin Weiss Krzysztof Rakowski Lars Wienbelt Lea Verou Lee Robinson Leigh Mason Leon Lisa Valuyskaya Lyndon Cerejo Maciej Kwas Manuel Bieh Marc Edwards Marc Roberts Marko Dugonjic Mathias Bynens Matt Stow Matt Ward Mattia Forza Micah Slavens Michael Hayes Michel Bozgounov Michelle Barker Mike Riethmuller Min Tran Moritz Grauel Nancy Ruzow Natalie Downe Nicolas Gallagher Oliver Reichenstein Owen Gregory Pablo Bernardo Patrick Lauke Patrick Rudolph Paul Bridgestock Paul Irish Paul Shaw Paul Tero Philip Tellis Rachel Andrew Rafael G. Lepper Ray Mosley Rian van der Merwe Rob Hawkes Rob Sutton Robert Hoekman Rodney Rehm Ros Hodgekiss Ross Bruniges Sally Young Sarah Soueidan Scott Jehl Sean Coates Sergey Chikuyonok Shane Gadsby Sharon Milne Simon Thomas Simon Willison Siobhan McKeown Stephanie Eckles Steven Bradley Susan Weinschenk Thierry Koblentz Thomas Friedel Thomas Herzog Thomas Llama Thord Daniel Hedengren Thorsten Ott Tim Kadlec Tim R. Todish Tim Wong Tom Giannattasio Tomasz Łakomy Will Critchlow Yves Peters Zack Grossbart Zoe Mickley Gillenwater.

Further Reading on SmashingMag:

Impressum (In German)

  • Amtsgericht Freiburg: HRB 710339
  • Umsatzsteuer-Identifikationsnummer (UStIDNr.): DE264172548
  • Vorstand und verantwortlich für die Inhalte dieser Seiten gemäß TMG: Inge Emmler